Hidden Spaces of the Nichols House Museum
Adult Enrichment / Walking Tours -
The Nichols House Museum preserves and interprets the 1804 Federal townhouse that was home to landscape gardener, suffragist, and pacifist Rose Standish Nichols and her family. Their home and its original art and furnishings provide a glimpse into life on historic Beacon Hill from the mid-19th to mid-20th century. Explore the museum from behind-the-scenes. What did it take to make the house run in the Victorian era? How do staff manage it’s preservation today? Peek into rooms and spaces not usually on view, take the back stairs, and explore over 200 years of this old house’s secrets. This tour lasts approximately one hour and visitors will take three flights of stairs. Please note: Meeting location and safety guidelines will be emailed as part of the Registration Confirmation email.
Nichols House Museum Staff
In 1885, Dr. Arthur Nichols and his wife Elizabeth purchased an 1804 townhouse attributed to architect Charles Bulfinch. The house was where their three daughters matured into designers, writers, and social activists. In 1930, Rose Standish Nichols (1872-1960) inherited the property and began laying the plans for its establishment as a museum. Soon after her death in 1960, the Nichols House Museum opened to the public. Today, the Museum engages with the social concerns of those who lived and worked in the house.